Politics or the Gospel

January 25, 2009

My brothers and sisters in the Lord at the Berean Call sent me this. In leiu of Rick Warren praying using the muslim name for Jesus (another jesus Rick why dont you get that one?).
As well as a new president.
I am reminded we need to pray for our leaders like em or not.
And I was not happy with Bush as well because of his universalist views same as Warrens.
I just dont get how you can say Jesus is the only way in with one side of your mouth and then preach that the muslim god is the same but O well.
I want to stay away from politics here.
Praying for our leaders as well as our new president is something we need to do according to Romans 13:1-6.
Keep in mind that while Paul wrote this inspired by the Holy Spirit, Nero was in charge.
Nero was not a friend of Christians but yet Paul adomonished those that are Christian to pray for him.
I will obey scripture here.
I will also remember I am just passing through here I have a different home in heaven
Heb 11:13-16 states
“3 These all died in faith, not having received the promises, but having seen them afar off were assured of them,[a] embraced them and confessed that they were strangers and pilgrims on the earth. 14 For those who say such things declare plainly that they seek a homeland. 15 And truly if they had called to mind that country from which they had come out, they would have had opportunity to return. 16 But now they desire a better, that is, a heavenly country. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for He has prepared a city for them.”
Jesus also assures us of our heavenly home in John 14:2, “In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you.”
Enjoy the article-Tim

POLITICS OR THE GOSPEL

“Jesus answered, My kingdom is not of this world: if my kingdom were of this world, then would my servants fight, that I should not be delivered to the Jews: but now is my kingdom not from hence” (John 18:36).

The fact that Christ’s Kingdom Is not of this world is enough to keep me out of the world’s politics. If I participate in politics, then I am casting a vote of confidence in the system’s ability to solve the world’s problems. But frankly, I have no such confidence because I know that “the whole world lieth in wickedness” (1 John 5:19).

Politics has proved singularly ineffective in solving the problems of society. Political remedies are nothing but a band-aid on a festering sore: they do not get at the source of the infection. We know that sin is the basic trouble in our sick society. Anything that fails to deal with sin cannot be taken seriously as a cure.

It becomes a matter of priorities, then. Should I spend time in political involvement or should I devote that same time to the spread of the gospel? Jesus answered the question when He said, “Let the dead bury their own dead, but you go and preach the kingdom of God” (Luke 9:60). Our top priority must be to make Christ known because He is the answer to the world’s problems.

–William MacDonald, One Day at a Time, Gospel Folio Press, p. 24.

Comments are closed.

